Today, the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) is pleased to announce that fifty-five (55) members of the lacrosse community have joined a very exclusive club amongst Commonwealth countries as they are recipients of a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal. This commemorative medal is a tangible and lasting way to pay tribute to those Canadians whose achievements have benefited their fellow citizens, their community, their organization and the country. It provides an opportunity to look back and recognize those who have made lacrosse what it is today.

These fifty-five individuals represent the backbone of Canadian lacrosse; they are the volunteers, the builders of our sport, administrators, coaches, and players. They give tirelessly to the sport they are so passionate about and as such the CLA is thrilled to have the opportunity to honour each of them.

Lacrosse recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal:
Jim Burke, Calgary, AB
Tom Engel, Edmonton, AB
Chuck Miller, Guelph, ON
Sohen Gill, Burnaby BC
Stewart Begg, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Doug Luey, Oshawa, ON
Marisa Di Bari, Toronto, ON
John Doherty, Oshawa, ON
Stan Cockerton, Oshawa, ON
Joey Harris, Winnipeg, MB
Angie Schwan, Delta, BC
Terry Rowland, Port Perry, ON
Dean McLeod, Brampton, ON
Ron McQuarrie, Victoria, BC
Brent McCauley, Brampton, ON
AJ Jomha, Edmonton, AB
Greg Toll, Maple Ridge, BC
Marion Ladouceur, ON
Steve O’Shaughnessy, Fredericton, NB
Shawn Williams, Prince Albert, SK
Dave Higdon, Saint John, NB
David H.C. Soul, Surrey, BC
Steven Brown, Lower Sackville, NS
Wayne Finck, Halifax, NS
Dave Arsenault, Saint John, NB
Bruce Logan,Saint John, NB
Damien Roy, Sherbrooke, QC
William Hutton, Ajax, ON
Bill Fox, ON
Dave Vernon,ON
Terry Lloyd, Oshawa ON
Jim Hinkson, Haliburton, ON
Bob Allan, Peterborough, ON
Jim Brady, St. Catharines, ON
Jim Price, Thornhill, ON
John Grant Sr, Peterborough, ON
Joanne Stanga, Markham, ON
Dieter W. Kirner, Oshawa, ON
Bruce Paton, Winnipeg, MB
Tom Parker, Winnipeg, MB
Glen Henkewich, Winnipeg, MB
John S. Herd, Birch Hills, SK
Randy Trobak, Saskatoon, SK
Alan Luciuk, Saskatoon, SK
Duane Bratt, Calgary, AB
Russ Sheppard, Edmonton, AB
David E.M. Jenkins, Prince George, BC
Douglas Wright, Richmond, BC
Deb Stocks, Nanaimo,BC
Terry Mosdell, Surrey, BC
Myrna Cable, Prince George, BC
Johnny Mouradian, Radnor PA
Paul Gait, Altamont? NY
David Huntley, Towson, MD
Gary Gait, Fayetteville, New York

The CLA wishes to congratulate all the recipients; their commitment to Canada's national summer sport is strengthened when we collectively pay homage to those who distinguished themselves by virtue of their talents, their generosity, and their service to their community, sport and to our country. Lacrosse is better for the all the contributions and time you each have given throughout the years.

Up Coming Events

First Spirit Lacrosse Camp

Great Spirit Bear Cross-Cultural Lacrosse Camp


Learn the Creators Game from the World's Best...The Iroquois Lacrosse Program and the Thompson Brothers (Lyle, Miles, Jeremy and Hiana) 
The Great Spirit Bear Sport Camp is proud to offer Atlantic Canada's First Cross Cultural Lacrosse Camp. The camp will be taking place at the University of New Brunswick (Fredericton, NB) from August 13 - 18, 2017.

The Great Spirit Bear Sport Camp (GSBSC) will use the sport of lacrosse as a vehicle to aid and repatriate our culture, spirituality and community to the First Nation’s youth of NB and to assist with the reconciliation with Canada. This can help in the recovery and healing that has been started regarding the residential schools and further prevent our loss of culture as mentioned in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s report. 

The Creator’s Game is a medicine game given to the Ogwe:ho;weh (all nations) to assist with healing individuals and nations.  In its purest form the game teaches young men and women about the importance of teamwork, promotes active and healthy living, builds self-confidence and increases self-esteem.
Dewa;ao gajihgwa:e was given to the Ogwe:ho;weh (all nations) by Sho:gwi:ya:di;soh for joy and amusement.   The game is now the fastest growing team sport in North America and it will continue to grow and expand beyond Ho:di;noh:so;ni communities for many reasons.
Anishinaabek, Cree, Dene. M’ikmaq, Maliseet, Coast Salish, Inuit and various First Nation communities are now beginning to realize the spiritual significance, experience the fun, plus enjoy the positive mental and physical well-being the game brings to individuals and communities.

Our program, in its purest form teaches young men and women about the importance of teamwork, promotes active and healthy living, builds self-confidence and increases self-esteem.

We are honoured to have Mr. Kevin Sandy as our camp Head Coach. Mr. Sandy has managed the Iroquois Nationals World Team in international competitions coming within one goal of winning a world championship (2007), capturing bronze (2008) and has played in more than 10 national and provincial sporting competitions in lacrosse and basketball, which are his two greatest sporting passions.  His teams have won gold, silver and bronze medals in national competitions.  Mr. Sandy has attained Level 2 Box Lacrosse and Field Lacrosse credentials, plus has Certification in Basketball and Multi-Sport Training.
It's official...the Thompson Brothers (Lyle, Miles, Jeremy and Hiana) will be joining us at the 2017 Great Spirit Bear Cross Cultural Lacrosse Camp (and they will be bringing gifts to each of the campers).

With the assistance of Coach Sandy, the Great Spirit Bear Sport Camp will introduce a one-of-a-kind High Performance experience to Mi’kmaq, Maliseet and Indigenous youth. 

Athletes will receive a Nike home and away uniform, Warrior tracksuit, Warrior clothing, accommodations, meals and top quality coaching.

*Athletes must be between the ages of 13-16 years old (not turning 17 this calendar year).
For more information please view our website at:


LNB Annual General Meeting

LNB's Annual General Meeting will be held October 29th, 2016 in Fredericton on the UNB Campus.

Marshall D'Avary Hall - Rooms 331 A & B (10 MacKay Drive)

It is building #44 in the diagram below. Located right beside the Aitken Center (Building #2). Physical address is 10 MacKay Drive.

There is lots of free parking behind the Aitken Center and in front of Marshall D’Avary Hall. No passes needed as it is Saturday.

Please enter the building at the front and someone will be there to guide you.



9:00 am  - reports from MA’s

10:00am – Election of new officers

10:45 – nutrition break

11:00am – Start annual mtg

12:00pm – Working lunch delivered to room

2:00 – nutrition break

5:00pm – UNB Lacrosse game vs Acadia @BMO field (right beside Marshall D’Avary Hall)


Referee Clinic

FLA Referee Clinic

Recent Events

Members of the Lacrosse Community Honoured

DHigdonJubProg2012 marks the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty's accession of the throne. To celebrate, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal was created. The last time the Diamond Jubilee medals were presented was during Queen Victoria's reign in 1867.

Read more ...

NB Lacrosse Players come through for Bishop's Gaiters

Our own Tarren Cook and Andrew Neilson helped the Bishop's Gaiters take the win (18-5) over the Nipissing Lakers in university lacrosse.

Tarren with 4 goals and Andrew with 3.

Well done gents!